Former CRA Champion Chris Gabehart Named Crew Chief for Erik Jones

Salem, IN (January 11, 2016) – 2007 ARCA/CRA Super Series Powered by JEGS Champion Chris Gabehart was named on Friday to be 2011 JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Presented by Chevrolet Performance Champion Erik Jones’s Crew Chief in his first full time season racing in the NASCAR XFinity Series for Joe Gibbs Racing. Gabehart most recently served as a race engineer on the No. 11 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series team with Denny Hamlin for Joe Gibbs Racing after working several seasons for Kyle Busch Motorsports.


The two former CRA Champions worked together to capture the 2013 Snowball Derby for Kyle Busch Motorsports. Jones was the 2015 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Champion for owner Kyle Busch, but also went to victory lane twice in the Xfinity Series running a partial schedule in that series as well as making selected NASCAR Sprint Cup starts for Joe Gibbs Racing. Jones also claimed the JEGS/CRA Super Late Model $100,000 Triple Crown last season.


“It makes us very proud to see former CRA Champions making it, in racings big leagues,” remarked R.J. Scott, Managing Partner with CRA. “This will be even more special with both those former CRA Champions working together to win races and competing for the Xfinity Championship, we wish them both lots of luck in 2016!”


Gabehart was a six time winner with the ARCA/CRA Super Series, including getting three wins in his 2007 Championship season. Gabehart was the 2004 series Rookie of the Year.


More information on all the CRA Series is available at