McElfresh Wins CRA Street Stock Five Crown Series Championship

Salem, IN (August 29, 2018) – Elwood, Indiana’s Jacob McElfresh has won the 2018 Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks Five Crown Series Championship after Saturday’s Five Crown Championship event at Mt. Lawn Speedway was cancelled because of weather. This was the first season of the Five Crown Series, Chuck Barnes Jr. was the 2017 Four Crown Series Champion, Brett Hudson was the Triple Crown Series Champion in 2016, while Jason Atkinson won the Triple Crown Series Championship in 2014 and 2015.


The first Five Crown event was April 21st, at Shadybowl Speedway were Hudson got the win. The second was at Anderson Speedway on June 16th were Josh Poore got the win. The third event was canceled because of weather at Kentucky Motor Speedway on July 22nd. The fourth event was at Winchester Speedway on August 5th were James Kirby III got the win. Teams were awarded show up points for both Five Crown events that were cancelled.


McElfresh used consistent top five finishes in the three Five Crown events that were raced to win the Championship. McElfresh started off with a second place finish to Hudson at Shadybowl. He finished fifth in the Anderson Five Crown race and then got another second place finish to James Kirby III in the Winchester Speedway event.


For his Five Crown Championship McElfresh will receive $1000 payoff and a trophy, as well as a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing. Each of the Five Crown event winners will also receive a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing.


Winchester winner Kirby III finished second the Five Crown points and picked up a $600 bonus, he was 18 points behind McElfresh. Brian Hopkins finished in third place and picked up a $400 bonus, he was two points behind Kirby III. Nathan Greene finished in fourth place, he was 24 points behind Hopkins. Hudson finished in fifth place, he was six points behind Greene.


The next Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks event will be on Monday, September 3rd at Winchester Speedway, with the Labor Day Weekend World Stock Car Festival. That event will be the first of the series four events with the Chase for the Championship.



1 3 Jacob McElfresh Jacob McElfresh 97 25 90 25 97 334
2 22 Jimmy Kirby James Kirby III 72 25 94 25 100 316
3 95 Brian Hopkins Brian Hopkins 90 25 88 25 86 314
4 54 Wendell Layne Nathan Greene 78 25 82 25 80 290
5 00 Willie Hudson Brett Hudson 100 25 76 25 58 284
6 57 Dave Stewart Daniel Adams 64 25 97 25 72 283
7 27 Josh Poore Josh Poore 66 25 100 25 64 280
8 84 Speedy Teepe Andrew Teepe 60 25 86 25 68 264
9 73 Danny Acrey Jason Atkinson 25 25 66 25 88 229


More information on all the CRA Series is available at