Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Triple Crown Series Event Two Saturday at Shadybowl Speedway

Salem, IN (July 23, 2020) – The Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS will have the second event with the 2020 Triple Crown Series at Shadybowl Speedway, outside of De Graff, Ohio this Saturday night. The event was originally scheduled to be the Four Crown opener back in April but was postponed and rescheduled because of the COVID-19 pandemic.  

The Triple Crown events will feature three 150 green lap, $3000 minimum to win events. The first Triple Crown event was at the Indianapolis Speedrome on July 11th and was won by Andrew Teepe. The Triple Crown Series Championship event will be at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 15th.

The Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks had a very popular Triple Crown Series from 2014 through 2016 with the events at Shadybowl Speedway, Kentucky Motor Speedway and Anderson Speedway. Jason Atkinson won the Triple Crown Series Championship in 2014 and 2015 with Brett Hudson winning the 2016 Championship. The series was expanded to the Four Crown Series for 2017 with Chuck Barnes Jr. winning the title. The series was expanded to a Five Crown Series in 2018, but two events were cancelled because of weather, Jacob McElfresh was the 2018 Champion. The Four Crown Series returned in 2019 with Atkinson claiming the crown again. 

In addition to the $3000 minimum to win for each event, there will be a Points Champion from the three events who will receive a $1000 bonus. Second in points will receive a $600 bonus, third place a $400 bonus, then there will be two $250 bonuses from a random draw from the cars that attended all four events. Each of the Triple Crown Series events will be 4 tire races, all four will have a break at lap 75 to add fuel and make adjustments. Each Triple Crown event winner and the overall Champion will receive a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing.

Saturday will be the fourth event of the 2020 season and the third points event for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks, who opened their 2020 season at Lebanon I-44 Speedway on May 30th with a special non-points event that was won by 2017 series Champion Colby Lane. Lane then picked up the series’ first points event win of 2020 at Mt. Lawn Speedway on June 14th.  Teepe got the win in the series last event at the Indianapolis Speedrome.

Teepe currently leads the series season points. Atkinson is in second, 15 points behind Teepe. Alan Williams Jr. is in third place, only one point behind Atkinson. Ryan Amonett is in fourth place, he is seven points behind Williams Jr. Series leading rookie Brandon Roberts is in fifth place, he is 16 points behind Amonett. Teepe is also locked into the series Chase for the Championship with his win if he competes in 70% of the series remaining races. 

With his win at the Speedrome, Teepe comes into Saturday’s race as the leader in the Triple Crown Points. Williams Jr. is in second, three points behind Teepe. Amonett is in third, three points behind Williams Jr. Atkinson is in fourth place, two points behind Amonett. J.J. Schafer is in fifth place, he is two points behind Atkinson. Teepe, Williams Jr., Amonett and Atkinson are all entered for Saturday night’s Triple Crown event at Shadybowl Speedway.

Two-time 2020 series event winner Colby Lane is entered. 2018 and 2019 event winner Brett Hudson is also entered to try and make it three series wins in a row at Shadybowl. Former event winner Josh Poore is entered. Multi time Shadybowl Speedway Track Champion Josh Smith is entered as he seeks his first series win. 

Other top series drivers entered includes 2019 series Champion McElfresh, 2016 series Champion Phil Jenkins, 2008 series Champion Bret Miles Jr. in the #51 Layne Motorsports entry, 2019 series Rookie of the Year Dallas Frueh, Nathan Greene, Jake Owens, Dale Harper and leading series rookie Brandon Roberts. 

There is plenty of local talent entered to try and get an Ohio driver to victory lane, including 2019 series Kil-Kare Raceway winner Chad Pendleton. Shadybowl regulars Jason and Tyler Mahaffey, Buck Purtee, Rodney Roush, Jamie Sites, Garrett Adams and Jason Drummond, along with Elyria, Ohio’s Jeremie Wiggins are all entered.  

There is an open practice on Friday, July 24th, pits open at 1pm, open practice goes until dark. Pits open on Saturday at 1 pm. Practice will begin at 3pm. Allstar Performance Qualifying will begin at 5:50pm. Racing action will begin at 7pm and will include the 150 lap green flag Triple Crown event for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks. Also, racing Saturday will be the Vores Touring Compact Series and the Shadybowl Late Models.  

More track and event info can be found at

More information on all the CRA Series is available at