John VanDoorn Leads Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year Points

Salem, IN (September 8, 2021) – Outerwears Performance Products is once again sponsoring the Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year Award with the ARCA/CRA Super Series Powered by JEGS during its 2021 25th Anniversary Season Presented by Team Construction. The award will include a $1000 cash bonus and a trophy. Jeff Lane was the Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year Award winner in 2015, the first season for the award. Scott Neal was the award winner in 2016, Butch VanDoorn the winner in 2017, Wimmer Motorsports, Crew Chief for 2018 series Champion Josh Brock, won the award in 2018 and 2019. In 2020 there was the first ever split award with Willie Allen Crew Chief for 2016 series Champion Cody Coughlin and Jimmy Tucker, Crew Chief for Michael Simko splitting the award. 

The award is based upon the Chase for the Championship format that CRA is using to determine its Champions again in 2021. The final three scheduled races are being utilized for the Chase to determine a series Champion and the Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year Award. There were six teams eligible for the ARCA/CRA Super Series Chase for the Championship at the first Chase event at Berlin Raceway on August 21st, but only four teams are eligible for the Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year Award after that event. 

The top four eligible teams Crew Chiefs will be awarded points at each of the three Chase events, five for the highest finisher, down to one for fifth highest. The Crew Chief earning the most points in the three Chase events will be the 2021 Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year Award winner.

After the first Chase for the Championship event at Berlin Raceway on August 21st, John VanDoorn, Crew Chief for Battle at Berlin 150 winner Kyle Crump, is leading the Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year Award standings with five points. 2021 is the first time that Crump has been in the series Chase for the Championship. 

Eric Hagen, Crew Chief for first time series Chase competitor Scotty Tomasik, is in second with four points. Kevin Hamlin, Crew Chief for Coughlin, is in third place with three points. Brent Jack, Crew Chief for son Hunter Jack, the 2021 series Regular Season Champion, is in fourth place with two points. 

The series next event will be the Central Transport Glass City 200 at Toledo Speedway on Saturday, September 18th, race two of the Chase for the Championship. The series Season Championship event will be the 50th Lucas Oil Winchester 400 on October 17th at Winchester Speedway. 

Based in Schoolcraft, Michigan, Outerwears has been on the track improving performance and creating champions since 1979. Designed using Terra-Flo technology Outerwears radiator screens provide the perfect balance between airflow and debris deflection, allowing peak airflow and longer radiator life. Outerwears radiator screens will be an important part of the ARCA/CRA Super Series for the 2021 race season. Ask your local dealer for your Outerwears or visit

More information on all the CRA Series is available at